Crevacing advice needed

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
Im still quite new to the prospecting game, and have been spending a bit of time in a local creek sniping some crevices. At the moment im working an area with exposed bedrock, and ive been digging in between the crevices with some pretty good results. Most pans are giving me between 5 - 20 specks of gold.
Im just not sure how far down between the crevices to dig. After digging out the usual dirt, stones and sand im digging down to some kind of sticky clay.
Ive found it quite difficult to break it down and pan it out successfully. Usually i dont find much gold in this sticky clay, as most of my finds are coming up above it in the crevice.
Should i persist digging into the sticky clay, or is this where i should stop?
Has anyone had any success in finding any small nuggets whilst crevicing? All i seem to find is small specks and flakes, not that im complaining! :)
Cheers!

Found a nice picker in a crevice just last week. You need to go to the bottom as that's where the bigger pieces will be.
The clay needs to be thoroughly liquified before being panned. Sieve with a 1/2 " and then work your hands through your pan.
I have found sometimes the clay has no gold, but usually the blue/grey stuff does. But that could be totally different in your area.
Clean those crevices untill you could eat off them!
Reeko

BoydWilliam said:
Hi all,
Im still quite new to the prospecting game, and have been spending a bit of time in a local creek sniping some crevices. At the moment im working an area with exposed bedrock, and ive been digging in between the crevices with some pretty good results. Most pans are giving me between 5 - 20 specks of gold.