Burn't Out Jack saying hi.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All
I'm new to this business but been doing a lot of online research and recently got myself a GPX 5000. The online posts are a great source of valuable advice and so I decided to join. Not my usual forte but i'll give it a go.

How did I get here? A very good question!
I needed to take a break from my business in construction in Ireland after 8 long years of recession and strife. My wife needed to visit her family in Sydney & Canberra and so here I am for 3 months to god knows when. To get me off my ass & motivated I came across a website on gold prospecting and became hooked. I needed something out in the open to get me away from it all and improve my overall health.

We were staying in Canberra where I hoped to start but found that Detect a Den had moved to Batemans Bay. Since we were also staying in Moruya for a weeks holiday I tracked them down there and got set up with a bit of gear courtesy of them and Bunnings which is a great place to source quality gear at a not so expensive price. Also ran into the Forestry office while i was there and got a fossicking licence (as I was unable to do so on their website)

So far my results have been:
1. A tour of Braidwood Valley down as far as Numerella.
2. A day in the bush near Moruya panning in a stream only to find the stream was way too full and too deep. Nearly got lost looking for a smaller tributary after attempting a short cut. Learnt a few lessons there on what not to do.
3.Managed to acquire and get the GPX 5000 working with a 15"x11" Coil. Success was an 1980 5cent piece at 6'' by a track followed by a rusty nail and a tinny cap.
4. Found the Moruya gold camp but was so overwhelmed by junk that i made little progress. No gold to date but i will not give up. Hope to see you out there. :rolleyes: