Broken the Ice at Blackwood!

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevewilko

that's right it was me....
Reaction score
Broken the Ice at Blackwood ?

Well it wasn't gold; it was a 1947 thrupenny bit.
A threepence coin in very good condition down around 20cm.

I consider I have broken the ice with a coin! - but something is wrong.

I moved away from Albion Mine after about 10 hours of coil on ground. No gold using both coils.
I worked all the sluiced country down both sides and detected around Albion itself. I was learning.

Considering changing ground, I studied south along Albion track to the first three ways divide.
This is highest point at Albion. To the right there are three hard hills with four gullies, eventually meeting Perry Reef and farther to long gully.
There is evidence of workings alright, protruding quartz veins of considerable width. Intersections of brown sandstone. Evidence of detector prospecting. A old claim notice expired 1983 still stands. When you reach to Perry reef, these are large and deep diggings. A lead running North'ish west to South'ish East over the faces of these three hard hills and through the gully bottoms.

I decided a planned approach of a hill top per day. All the hard ground from high point along the hill top down the gully face to the gully. (500 m? 5 hrs?)
Next I divided the height of the hill in half and do a circuit mid height right around the entire hill. I detected around the diggings as well.
Next I undertook a zig zag pattern anywhere down the side at the third pass looking for a spill.
The gully bottom showed deep loam, evidenced by a dig and by the health and profusion of bracken and vegetation in general. I did not detect the gully bottoms.

I have done this on all three hills and have about 30 hours of actual detecting there. NO Gold!

So it is a case of either / or ...
The operator.