My Bunnings Sluice Design

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grippsy25

Matt
Reaction score
After seeing another member of the forum (Ryan J) do a Bunnings build recently I've been inspired to build my own in a similar vein.

Im only in design process right now for a couple of reasons: a) holding out hoping I win the sluice in the Easter Raffle haha and b) I'm still pretty new to this whole thing and I predict I'm going to NEED some feedback, so no need to rush into the build and end up with a "sluice" that doesn't work.

So I tried to do research before I started but found info to be fairly scarce. In terms of things like overall size, shape, length and riffle size, shape, spacing etc there doesn't seem to be any definite answers. Lots of answers such as "depends on how much water flow you'll have", or "depends what size you'll be classifying your material" etc. Not exactly what I was looking for, but helpful none the less. So all in all, my research taught me that pretty much any design (within reason) will catch gold...some just more than others.

So without the guidance I initially wanted I went about designing the sluice on paper...the following is what I've come up with. Who knows if it's workable or not...certainly not me. This is where the knowledgeable people here come in and critique it for me, tell me what'll work, and what won't...then I can get the built right the first time.

Just FYI, I rounded off numbers here or there but they're basically accurate. And the pics are a little askew since I didn't get them from directly above, so ignore that too :)

Specifications: (all dimensions shown in millimeters)
Overall Length: 750
Flared Mouth Length: 180
Flared Mouth Width: 290
Riffle Section Length: 570
Riffle Section Width: 190
Riffle Spacing: 69
Riffle Length: 31
Riffle Height: 17.5
Wall Height: 70

Materials list: so far...