Minelab XTerra 705 or Fisher F5 Detector for beach & prospecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to prospecting and my husband have the fever. I want to purchase a Metal Detector. Would you recommend The Minelab XTerra 705 or F5 detector? Would you recommend Ebay, gumtree or going direct to Minealab site as I would feel safer with warranty. I live by a beach in Sydney and have seen people in wet suits prospecting on the ocean floor. I assume water proof ones are pricier.. Over the school holidays I want to take the kids gold prospecting and go camping. So it needs 2 uses gold and coins by the beach. I'm confused by the the dual coil or not.. Any advice or if anyone is selling their detectors please let me know

Hi Renatab and welcome to the forum. To start with I'll say I've been quite successful detecting around the Northern Sydney area, it's a great passtime and can earn you a few dollars and other valuables. On the other hand gold prospecting/detecting can be very very difficult and frustrating, don't let that put you off though as it can be a great experience to find a gold nugget, very rewarding feeling when you find one.

To be totally honest I would not select either of those 2 detectors for gold detecting as they will struggle on our highly mineralised soils, the Xterra 705 is a very good detector but it stuggles on wet beach sand, though for parks and dry sand it is excellent. I would not recommend the 705 for gold either. But for a coin hunter it is very good

The Fisher detector I have absolutely no experience with so I can't compare the 2.