You are not logged in.

  • Register to access all forum features  

#1

BigL
Member
From: Cowjahaveapoop
Joined: 04 March 2018
Posts: 122
Member
29 June 2020 10:47 pm

G'day

I'm chasing a cable connector to tie into the headphones out on my SDC 2300, anyone know who sells them please?

Thanks AL

#2

RM Outback
Member
Joined: 10 March 2016
Posts: 5,883
Member
29 June 2020 11:09 pm

http://phasetechnical.com.au/welcome-to … technical/

Nenad at Phasetech thumbsup you won't find a better person to deal with beer

Check him out in the site sponsors list.

2 users like this post: Nightjar, Jin

#3

grubstake
Member
From: Perth, WA
Joined: 20 October 2014
Posts: 2,500
Member

Where it is, there it is.

#4

BigL
Member
From: Cowjahaveapoop
Joined: 04 March 2018
Posts: 122
Member
29 June 2020 11:21 pm

I've already seen phasetech and another vendors product in the West & will not pay those prices for a bit of audio cable and 2 plugs.

I want to go from my speaker or headphones directly to the SDC via 1 plug, that way I've 1 less connection to worry over with moisture or dust.

Any ideas please?

#5

mbasko
Member
From: Central West NSW
Joined: 27 January 2015
Posts: 4,420
Member
30 June 2020 06:43 am

Apart from the Phasetechnical cable the only other way is to source:
- old or unused SDC headphones
- unused Pro Sonic transmitter SDC cable
& use the military SDC plug to make your own adapter to suit or wire your speaker/headphones of choice direct.
I have an unused Pro Sonic transmitter SDC cable somewhere.


Everything we use comes from mining or farming.

#6

BigL
Member
From: Cowjahaveapoop
Joined: 04 March 2018
Posts: 122
Member
30 June 2020 08:48 am

thanks mbasko, military SDC plug then is what I'm chasing.. will try google

I've been down the cable road (snake oil) with hi-end audio and know very well in this instance all I need is a shielded cable. I have plenty up in my shed

Cheers AL

#7

mbasko
Member
From: Central West NSW
Joined: 27 January 2015
Posts: 4,420
Member
30 June 2020 09:04 am

I've tried Google numerous times & came up empty handed.
The audio plugs used on Minelab's SDC2300 (& F3 Compact) appear to be proprietary to Minelab. It seems you can only source them if they want you to?
I'll see if I can find the Pro Sonic transmitter SDC cable today & let you know. Cover postage & it's yours.


Everything we use comes from mining or farming.

2 users like this post: grubstake, AngerManagement

#8

AuMan
Member
Joined: 16 March 2014
Posts: 181
Member
30 June 2020 01:43 pm

Mbasko is right. These plugs are not off the shelf plugs and they are even different to the old F3 plugs. I'm not sure if the F3Ci uses the same plug, but regardless they are a custom job unfortunately. It is a real pain in the rear end!

The other alternative would be to just install a 1/4" jack(like every other metal detector on the planet) in place of the original plug. I'm not sure how much room there is however. It is one of the things on my to do list with the sdc.

Cheers Mick

#9

Jin
Member
Joined: 28 October 2019
Posts: 27
Member
30 June 2020 02:33 pm

On one of the Facebook groups, a member fits a lead out of the chassis with a 3.5 or 6.5 male or female end (jack). He says there isn't enough room inside the chassis for the jack, hence the lead with the jack coming out.


Gpz7000 - 10" X-coil, Gpz14 coil, 20" X-coil - Equinox 800 - Magnifying glass

#10

mbasko
Member
From: Central West NSW
Joined: 27 January 2015
Posts: 4,420
Member
01 July 2020 03:33 pm

mbasko wrote:

I'll see if I can find the Pro Sonic transmitter SDC cable today & let you know. Cover postage & it's yours.

The cable is no longer available. No word back on interest so passed it onto someone else. thumbsup


Everything we use comes from mining or farming.

2 users like this post: grubstake, 2lateagain

#11

condor22
Member
From: Adelaide, SA
Joined: 16 December 2013
Posts: 1,889
Member
01 July 2020 10:38 pm

The SDC plug is not available as a stand alone item in Australia. I know Nenad and from memory I think he said he sources them through Minelab's supplier (he used to work for them). Over half of the cost is what he has to pay for that plug, then the other socket and cable. Then the labour, profit etc etc.

No it's not cheap, but looked after it and it's worth the money. As mentioned, the only other viable option is to cut the plug from your SDC headphones and then solder a 1/4" socket onto the other end of the wire. Then put a 1/4" plug on the phones and they can still be used.

If they have stock, Coiltek Gold Centre in Maryborough VIC may have the patch lead, but I think they get them from Nenad anyway.

#12

BigL
Member
From: Cowjahaveapoop
Joined: 04 March 2018
Posts: 122
Member
02 July 2020 01:33 am

mbasko.. thanks for the kind offer, sorry I was a bit late getting back to you but no problem, I'm sure its being put to good use.


Contact Us - Privacy Policy - Terms Of Service

View Desktop Site

Top