Jupiter Creek / Echunga SA books and maps

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bacchus

Rick
Reaction score
Hello and thank you for reading

Absolute Newbie , living in the Adelaide Hills

Any advice on books / maps that can assist me in learning from scratch and fossicking the Jupiter Creek and Echunga
areas would be greatly appreciated , in addition info on Tarcoola ? This forum has been fantastic and a thread response by
( Loamer ) had me reading some old SA archives about Gold mining in Tarcoola in the early 1900,s .

Cheers

Rick

? " Life is to short to drink bad wine "

Hi Rick

I also live in Adelaide and have done a lot of research on Jupiter Creek, Echunga and lots of other sites. In my opinion the best research resources on this subject can be found on the DMITRE website located at http://www.minerals.dmitre.sa.gov.au . Once you have browsed to the site click on the SARIG link:
1415261728_sarig.jpg

SARIG is a geo-spacial database with a comprehensive catalogue of South Australia's past, present and future mining activities. It is pretty cool, you can download old historical documents or filter the data by different commodities. It has drill hole analysis, gravity and magnetic maps of most of South Australia and a host of other useful information. It is an excellent starting point for those new to prospecting.

All the best

Rick

Cheers Rick

Fantastic information , I can see many more Internet hours ahead.

Good luck

Rick

Gday Stuart