Impact Mill Build

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
After months of procrastinating, indecision and dealing with higher priority projects I have finally got around to (attempting) building an Impact Mill. I have watched 30 or 40 YouTube videos, researched on line and following a few threads in this forum on the subject, and I think I have got my head around what to build.

I am new to prospecting and I am guessing that there are others in this forum that are just as inexperienced. So I intend to document my approach and add some context to the approach I am taking. I hope that others may be able leverage my experiences or learn from any mistakes along the way.

I decided to use a 274 mm X 10 mm hardened steel pipe as my starting point. I am not lining the pipe with hardened plate at this stage, I want to see how the mill wears with use. The following illustration is what I am hoping it will look like when completed.

1414067568_plans.jpg

So my starting materials consist of a couple of 25mm bearings (including housings), a 2020 X 300 X 10 mm steel plate, a couple of meters of 10x40 Flat Bar and 50x50x6 Angle; and the pipe.

1414068176_materials.jpg

After a couple of hours work I managed to get the end plates cut and welded to the pipe. The whole thing was cut in two, ready for the next stage; building the support frame. Below are a few photo's of the process. I will update this thread over the next couple of weeks as the project progresses.

Rick

1414068618_endplates.jpg

Cutting the end plates (with jig).

1414068824_cylinder.jpg

The pipe with end plates welded.

1414068948_halves.jpg

The two halves of the Mill....

That looks like it will be a solid, well built crusher Rick.

One of that size will fly through the material.

Look forward to see your updates with it and good luck