Kogan metal detector

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. I just bought a Kogan metal detector (less than $100 from their online store). It's my first ever detector so I'm pretty new at this. Does anyone have experience with this brand? I hope I haven't wasted my money! Anyway I'm going to take the kids down the beach after school to try it out.

Have no info on this decector but the cheap Aldi dectector at $100 seems to be capable of finding coins and such. These are sometings rebranded versions of 'brand name' dectctors so shouldn't be all bad.
Don't pin your hopes on finding gold with it (although stranger things have happened) enjoy it as a learning tool and if you are attracted to the hobby (?) you can always upgrade at a later date.
Most of all welcome to the formum, hope you find some words of wisom amongst its pages.
Cheers Tom

Teemore said:
Don't pin your hopes on finding gold with it (although stranger things have happened
Cheers Tom

Why? is gold harder to detect than other metals? The specs said it would pick up silver, gold etc.

raresaturn said:
Teemore said:
Don't pin your hopes on finding gold with it (although stranger things have happened
Cheers Tom

Why? is gold harder to detect than other metals? The specs said it would pick up silver, gold etc.

The cheapie detectors will find a large piece of gold at shallow depth say 100mm - the more upmarket detectors like Minelab GPX5000 will find very small nuggets at much greater depths - don't be discouraged though you might find that big one :) and we all have to start somewhere.