New Aim MD 3500. Marketed as Deep Target Sensitive Metal Detector Snoo

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok i have looked everywhere, searched the forums, google searched looked far and wide to find a review on this machine all to no avail....

It has finally arrived my first ever detector, Im more excited than a kid in a candy store i take it home force the girls to go to sleep so i can unwrap and put together this piece of financial freedom... This wonderful machine i have been dreaming about since i was 10 years old when i saw my first detector in Big W for $68... This beautiful black and aluminium machine that will lead me to my pirates chest full of gold coins and jewellery all the while picking up rings and coins every other day, with a discrimanator soooo good i wont dig one piece of junk iron or ringpull and a depth of up to 3 metres (for large items ;) Im guessing a tin shed hidden by a sheet)

So i carefully unwrap it like a child on christmas morning trying not to wake anyone, gently put the peices together and install the batteries, pick it up and give it a swing to see how it feels. It is very light, very plastic and it feels like i will brake it very quickly.

Time for a test, i pick it up, put the headphones on, turn it on and nearly throw the bloody thing volume was on full and as soon as it got near the floor im guessing it picked up the rio in the concrete. Ok looks like it works...

Back on the table for some air tests, firstly a 5c peice, at full sensitivity in all metal mode the detector picked up the flat side at +-30cm
Next a $1 coin same thing +-30cm
Next a gold ring, the one i was most interested in, +-25cm
Next a stainless steel knife +-40cm

Doing these air tests all of them on the depth gauge were max (over 6inch)