1st Time Gold Detecting SA. Location Tips Welcome.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am pretty new to metal detecting and am planning a camping trip (a long weekend after Australia Day) and gathering in these days my first gold detecting experience with the Equinox 800 (5x10 Coiltek).

I have already spoken to several experienced detectorists and gold detecting in general, but in SA, in particular, will not be easy (equipment + lack of experience).

Nevertheless, I give it a go : ) and I selected some places I'd like (and not far from Adelaide) to go but depends on whether Fire Ban restrictions are in place.

Option 1
Mt Crawford (Watts Gully etc.) and maybe make a day trip to Chapel Hill. Does anyone have any comments / alternative ideas?

If option 1 fails due to a Total Fire Ban.

Option 2
Because of the Fire Ban, I want to try a bit north of Adelaide. No further than Burra SA, as I don't want to drive excessively far for the first time. I did some reading / checked SARIG and the area East from Burra looks interesting but due to private land etc. difficult access. Does anyone have any tips about this particular SA northern region and hopefully tips to more accessible land? Happy to camp in the region as well : )

Thanks and greetings from Adelaide.

Hi Bonjte and welcome to PA....
Not to put a dampener on your gold detecting aspirations in SA, but your chances in the spots you have mentioned with the Nox 800 are practically nil, mainly because the Nox is predominantly a coin and relic detector with an added gold mode. Also Crawford, Jupiter creek, and Chapel Hill, ( now indefinitely closed ) have been detected to death for years with the best gold machines available .
All the gold mines around Burra are on private property with no prospect of gaining access... ( I have tried many times to no avail )