Dumb question no 1?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bushranger

Paul
Reaction score
Trying to work out what this is! Found on am mode! It is magnetic. I'm new to detecting/fossicking so I need to ask the dumb question. Any ideas????
1385773588_image.jpg

It is a dark reddish, maroon colour.

It's a blurry rock!:p Seriously, is it really heavy, better pics would be advantageous for better opinions. :)

Very true Goldpick, it could also be a piece of smokey quartz, but very hard to tell from that pic.

Not quartz, and is pretty heavy. Some more pics here.
1385796937_image.jpg

Still got some mud on it, only gave it a quick wash.
1385797048_image.jpg

mfdes said:
Nugget said:
Very true Goldpick, it could also be a piece of smokey quartz, but very hard to tell from that pic.

Not if it's magnetic...

Whoops, I forgot about that important factor :lol:. I guess I was just trying to get the point across that it could be anything based on the blurry pic.

I'm still thinking meteorite.

Thanks for the input! I don't know much about this stuff. Found some other stuff too!
1385799372_image.jpg

I think it's a badge. Writing says...entente cordiale ..us British, German and French flags on it! Pretty cool.

meteorite will have melt points like thump prints all over dose it look like it has melting on it take it to some one to have a look in person is the best bet could be worth money may just be iron stone good luck :)

richo966 said:
meteorite will have melt points like thump prints all over dose it look like it has melting on it take it to some one to have a look in person is the best bet could be worth money may just be iron stone good luck :)