You are not logged in.

• Register to access all forum features  

Dewalt
11 January 2021 03:24 pm

Hi All,

I dont normally post but have been doing some reading on coils and have read on a few sites that coils over 18" in diameter are actually reaching a point that they do not give a positive return. That is on a GPX, some of the earlier models like the SD seem to benifet from larger coils from what people that have used them say.

I have no electronics background or a wealth of knowledge on this subject, its just an inquiry to see what people with more knowledge and first hand experience think on the subject.

I have recently bought a 20" mono and will be heading over to WA once it turns up, so will be interesting to put it up against my 14" on targets to see if it makes a difference. It will take time to change between the two but im hoping to be over there for six months plus so time is not a issue.

Do people think the reason that two of the major manufactures only have 18" coils at the moment is because of this, once again only a question to see what people with more knowledge than me think.

Regards,
Maurice.

Last edited by Dewalt (11 January 2021 03:25 pm)

The detecting is not over till the batteries are flat smile

1 user likes this post: Jaros

mbasko
11 January 2021 05:21 pm

Coiltek still have 22" Goldstalker DD & Mono coils
Nugget Finder have a 25" DD coil
IMO big coils in the right area still have their place

Everything we use comes from mining or farming.

Dewalt
11 January 2021 05:40 pm

mbasko wrote:

Coiltek still have 22" Goldstalker DD & Mono coils
Nugget Finder have a 25" DD coil
IMO big coils in the right area still have their place

I certainly hope so, cant wait to try out the 20" in WA.

Pfft just cant wait to get out of Adelaide and detect full stop smile

The detecting is not over till the batteries are flat smile

nuggetino
12 January 2021 09:28 pm