Hi all Im Spizz

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newbie to this forum and not really sure how to proceed. But here goes... Firstly thanks to Pirate Pete for his answer to my question yesterday. Its just as I thought. Its better to go local than overseas.. Iam thinking of heading around the Maldon, Castlemaine, areas for some beginners gold prospecting ince the lock down is lifted and we can all get out, But first things first. I need a detector. Can any one suggest a reasonable unit at under the $2k mark? Ive looked at Minelab and Whites and Garret units and I'm confused Please help. Also are there any members that are selling their detectors so that there may be a saving of sorts.

Many thanks and the thank you for accepting me into the forum

Welcome Spizz. The choice depends on whether you are looking for coins, relics or Gold. If looking for gold you would be better off looking for a PI detector which has the ability to search deeper than the VLF detectors. Buying 2nd hand is a good way to go but I would go Pi as they find things other models overlook.
Jaros.
Look at the bottom of the forum home page there. There is a Detector and wanting to buy or sell section.
Jaros (again). :)