Another newbie

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all, thanks for letting me join the forum.

Absolute newbie based in suburban Melbourne - interested in gold prospecting, love being outside in the bush, have a 4WD, not doing this to make my fortune, but have had a life long interest in gold prospecting. Having an excuse to get outside is the primary driver - once we see the back of this damned pandemic. I have been very lucky to have seen a lot of Australia (& the world) in my working life.

Have not bought any books or equipment yet. Thinking of a Minelab Equinox 800 and will see what happens if I can master how to use it - still researching.

Tips/advice appreciated.

Doug Stone book "Metal detecting for gold in Australia" - thoughts?

Cheers

Ozvino (Dave)

G'day ozvino welcome to PA if it's gold you want to detect the best start up machine for anyone new or old is the SDC2300 as for easy learning curve. Pretty much everyone is in the hobby for the same reasons as you mate, enjoying the outdoors and the next adventure the bonus of this forum is the meet ups with like minded people. If the Equinox is your choice for multi purpose beach,parks and gold stick with your plans. As for books Doug Stone's are a good source but not the only one the best reading/research is anything factual on your chosen location. All the best when you get the opportunity to head for the goldfields :beer:

Cheers guys

I will continue to research books and other information. Being from Melbourne I will probably focus on the goldfields around Ballarat/Bendigo etc. however I am keen for a road-trip once the Covid lockdown is over and might head Nth to NSW then the NT in November (if we Mexicans are allowed).