Any astro buffs here?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Stuff,
That is top shelf equipment there.
I do not own one but have seen one
in operation.
Dobsonian is the Ducks Nuts.

I have a National Geographic 7 inch refactor.
Can see the rings of Saturn easily but would
like a better setup.
When I can afford it.

For planetary observation they are brilliant but I mainly want to photograph the space station.
I've never used or seen their gear before but it looks well made. Years ago it cost me more to build one.

ahh thanks mate... thought they might be tied up with Williams Optics or Vixen of which I've had both and didn't mind for photography.

Thanks for the link, not a big fan of Skywatcher stuff (or collapsible dobs) though it's good value for dollar :Y:

I am a bit like a couple of the other contributors, have no direct information regarding your planned Dobsonian, but telescopes can be fun to play with, but also eat a few $$. I did a Donsonian when a travelling person would run sky night sessions in a caravan park about 8 years ago, but the Dobsonians are not often used with automatic tracking gear.
I made my first Newtonian telescope by grinding, figuring and polishing the 8" glass blanks myself. That was followed by making the tube, equatorial mount, and even a ratchet eyepiece holder. That took more than 10 years with 2 house moves in between, but it is so big and awkward to move in and out of the garage, that I even considered making a permanent observatory for it. It ended its initial use when a work associate dropped and broke the mirror, so I purchased a replacement mirror rather than doing the whole grind job again.
But rather than building its own little observatory, I ended up purchasing a 200mm Schmitt Cassegrain with its own motorised mount and it could be packed away in a nice padded box.