Black or Discoloured Nugget?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Currently I'm down in Victoria near Maryborough (from Sydney). It is first gold prospecting trip, so I'm a newbie.

I "think" I found my first ever nugget today, but it is kind of black in appearance. It feels heavy for its size and is not metallic. It's not lead, as there is small sections where the gold colour is visible.

Is this normal?

Do I clean it, or leave it?

I don't have a set of scales, but I'd imagine it would be 5 or 6 grams in weight. It won't fit into the plastic jar that came with a panning kit I bought.

I hired a Minelabs SDC 2300 from Coiltek Gold Centre in Maryborough, as they said my Gold Monster 1000 would struggle in Victorian conditions.

1581571771_20200213_162123.jpg

Doesn't look like gold to me, sometimes gold does come coated in near black ironstone though.

I'd scratch it on a rock or a file to see what's underneath the black stuff.

If it is gold you can soak it in either hydrchloric acid or Alibrite to get the coating off.

Heatho said:
Doesn't look like gold to me, sometimes gold does come coated in near black ironstone though.

I'd scratch it on a rock or a file to see what's underneath the black stuff.

If it is gold you can soak it in either hydrchloric acid or Alibrite to get the coating off.

I might scratch it later tonight. Just wanted a few opinions first incase I screw it up in some way.

Anyway not long until sunset. I'm of to dig more holes and find it a shiny companion. :goldnugget: :pickshovel: :cool:

Looks like a hot rock.

I.e highly mineralised piece of rock.

Never throw that stuff out when you 1st start out.

I put them on a rock and smack them with the flat part of my pick straight down vertically to be sure to be sure

dam it will know if he gets a look at it.

RS

Allthatshines said: