Gold Fossicking Tours N.S.W.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Can anyone suggest a gold fossicking tour? I am a newbie and would like some help. Preferably NSW.

beaul said:
Can anyone suggest a gold fossiking tour. I am a newbie and would like some help. preferably nsw

Hey Beaul,

Make sure you ask what sort of support they provide inexperienced prospectors. Also if they detect while on tour.

As a newbie you are paying for a tour to learn as much as you can. In my opinion if the tour leader is spending all their time detecting all that you're really is subsidizing their business or trip.

Best regards

Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle said:
beaul said:
Can anyone suggest a gold fossiking tour. I am a newbie and would like some help. preferably nsw

Hey Beaul,

Make sure you ask what sort of support they provide inexperienced prospectors. Also if they detect while on tour.

As a newbie you are paying for a tour to learn as much as you can. In my opinion if the tour leader is spending all their time detecting all that you're really is subsidizing their business or trip.

Best regards

Bullwinkle

Not always.
Good tour operators (teachers) often detect to locate a target (without digging it) then bring in the novice and use it as a teaching aid.

What to listen for, how to pinpoint, how to dig and recover etc.
Novice does the work and keeps the gold and has newfound understanding, confidence and enthusiasm.

Edit: also depends on what type of tour, just a tag-along or tag-along with tuition etc. You want and need to ask for a tour that has tuition included.

With just a tag-along tour you are paying for the guides knowledge and experience in locating good ground where he himself would detect. Possibly also you're after the safety and company especially if it's your first time to WA.