Total beginner and new to forum

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been somewhat interested in metal detecting for a few years, just from wondering what you might find at the beach rather than pulling out a life-changing gold nugget. Didn't actively pursue it but received an el cheapo Kogan for Xmas as a fun starter.

I've had it out a couple of times just over the road on the nature strip just to see if I can locate any metal whatsoever. Miraculously found $1.70 in a 50cm diameter area just below the surface on the grass verge ($1, 50c, 10c, 2x5c) where it must have fallen from someone's pocket while sat on the ground. That and a metal railway spike was the beginner's luck I needed to give me faith that the metal detector I have is capable of finding metal. Second time out I only found an iron pipe and some bottle tops.

The goal I guess is to use it on the beach when we are camping as a bit of fun when the kids are otherwise engaged or my mates are fishing. I'd like to get a handle on the sensitivity and discrimination settings before then such as they are on the machine I have.

I'm joining the forum for general information and advice once I start to know enough to know what I don't know!

Cheers,
Banz
Brisbane, Australia

Hi mate, sounds like you're off to a good start.

Unfortunately I can't offer any real words of wisdom as I don't detect on sand.
I guess over time you'll learn the sounds, but as many on here have said ' dig em all '

Welcome. I too don't go to the beach. I'm out at Karara Qld. 2hrs from Brisbane. Good luck. Post your finds.