New to the game, heading to Sofala.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good Evening, Im new to the gold hunting hobby,

First off i will say i have not yet found gold. Have mainly been looking around Temora NSW. Not that ive tried very hard. Have found plenty of rubbish and bullet fragments which gives me hope that the gold monster 1000 has the ability to find gold.
I am heading to Sofala this coming week for a couple of nights camping.
Plan is to try my luck at panning. I also have a Gold monster 1000 which i will give a swing around as well.
After any tips or tricks for the area or what to look for. Im headed to Darwin for the month and camping trips along the way where i could get lucky for a few grams or even the bigger nug.
Is there much water in the Turon river at the moment? I imagine it would be pretty low.

regards
Dave

Hi Dave,
Welcome to the forum cant help with tips as Im new to the hunt as well but I have found the people on this forum very helpful. I am also going to Sofala towards the end of September so will be reading your replys to hopefully find some tips on places to go myself.
Happy Detecting Terry.

Surf the upper Turon above Sofala. Iits wet give it a miss, as the first leg(ate to gate) of it can get slippery. Aftr ,that ive even seen small low cars on it!
After the 2nd gate about a km on, there is a nice litttle spot on the creek side to camp. High enough to be safe from a flash flood.
This spot is just below Palmers Oakey creek. Not far beyond this spot the creek is fenced of for a bit, with an old sign say " private property etc.
Hint to navigating the first leg is to take note of any possible pull over/ passing points in case you come across another vehicle head on, single lane track.
Why there isnt a sign saying " use channel 21" ... is beyond me!