Interesting find while diving

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Does anyone know what this is?
I found it while diving, close to the shoreline buried in sand.
The 2 lines you can see around the middle are faint but also at the top and bottom.

1534129413_20160709_115208.jpg

1534129440_20160709_115221.jpg

1534129463_20160709_115234.jpg

1534129491_20160709_115245.jpg

1534129512_20160709_115310.jpg

It feels super light like its cork, but I always thought it was wood. It has many holes from things growing on and inside it which may be why its so light...and fragile.

I think its a jug or pot of some kind because of the flat bottom. But i am just a painter :lol:

I'll try to get some closeup pics to see if it really has a wood grain of if its just dirty.

The second pic certainly appears to show some sort of pouring lip. And in the absence of a handle the raised ridge around the neck might be so you can grip it whilst pouring. Why it's so light? Well who knows after so long under water. My best guess would be some sort of jug or flask.

This could be a valuable piece of history, if there is a museum or university near you, take it too them so they can try and identify it.
First thoughts it was a marine float, following photos showing the lip/flat bottom would almost certainly identify it as a type of jug/vessel.
If you were diving on the East coast it may have originated on the Polynesian Islands and they visited Australian shores many moons ago?

There is similar but not same Polynesian pottery here;
https://www.google.com.au/search?q=...BAgCEB8&biw=1434&bih=839#imgrc=muyDhXSEODhU1M:

A burial urn??

http://users.on.net/~mkfenn/page6.htm