Metal Detector advice High end over ~ $3000

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everybody, this looks like a really informative and maintained site. I'm pretty new to the prospecting scene but am keen to learn a lot more. I have 3 young kids who love coming out with me using a home made sluice and a few pans. I am really keen to go to the next level and spend a few bucks and get into the detector scene... I will just throw it out there... If you were going to buy your first detector, had up to $4000 to spend what would you personally go for including accessories needed. I would like a detector to use in the Central vic golfields for Nuggets and relics and also to be able to see what treasure I can find in and around public parks etc. If you fellas could name your detector of choice any why that one. Thanks in advance, Jarrod

$4000, I'd be seriously looking at the SDC 2300. Search for it on the forum and you'll see some rather impressive results from this machine.

If you're mainly hunting Gold an SDC2300. It's a bit sensitive for parks though and has no discrimination, can get other detectors for $200 that are perfect for parks.

Sounds like you need two detectors . Me if I was going to get my first it would be the E-Track for the parks and a whites tdi pro oz for the gold. If I had 4g to spend. Other than that a Garrett AT gold if I was strapped for cash .
But you have lots of choices to pick from these days . And good luck on whatever you get

The sdc 2300 is perfect for the Victorian Gold Feilds
Because in most cases Gold is within reach of the