noob wants to do it all...

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
hi everyone...

im new here and new to the subject, so im full of fever questions that my naivety is generating and would appreciate any responses...

I have this romantic idea of setting camp on good electronic detecting ground near a creek, setting sluices and setting about doing all the things the greenies, counicl and rangers would hate...

Can an individual still do this?
What about on private land?
How "serious" can an individual get these day?

Of the mining shack/leases, is that a method of prospecting
that is dry, hot and dusty but pays or is it more a lifestyle?

Many thanks for bearing with my questions..

Gday Robert, Great to see so much romantic enthuism :)
im relatively new to this also, so i can give you my thoughts and perspective of what you are asking based on the last 4-5 months of research i have done. yes research you have to research all the time. But history is very interesting.
I origianally thought along the same lines as you, but it aint that easy to go out and live off the land. it takes time, persistance and research... did i say research?
so the last 4-5 months i have had a detector but havnt been detecting for gold as yet. just scouting out my local area and gaining invaluable detecting experience, getting to know my detector intimately, thats my first step. I saw no point in travelling long distances chasing gold if i have no experience with my detector. Im getting there, i know what a ring pull sounds like now.... I will be looking for gold in a couple of weeks, but thats another story.
check out http://www.dnrm.qld.gov.au/mining/fossicking/licences-permits and have a look around this site, it only relates to QLD so depending on which way you are going you will need to check each state for their departments respective rules.