could anyone please help me identify these stones?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jf65

Julie
Reaction score
i think they are possibly opals of some kind..My dad found, cut and polished these.
1378792501_2013-09-10_15.42.22.jpg

Nice stones jf65 , I am no expert but look like opal to me, but Shauno should be able to confirm , as he is in Lightning Ridge right in amongst it

Cheers Paul

Thanks Paul..lol, i love looking at his stones (and trying to find out what they are) that he has left me, all that he picked out of the ground over the years.

Hi jf65,

Looks to me like a piece of Andamooka Matrix at the top (at a guess) and the other below looks to be a nice polished Yowah Nut.

Really beautiful colour in that Yowah Nut! Very nice piece.

Kindest regards,
Shauno.

Thanks Shauno and DD. another specimen, again, your help is much appreciated :) Julie
1378808009_2013-09-10_12.20.41-1.jpg

1378808342_2013-09-10_12.09.59-1.jpg

another view of the earlier one...i can take a picture of different angles and they all show a different color, even yellow....definitely not selling them, but out of curiosity, are they of any real value?

thanks kemjak :) a friend of mine described my dad (recently passed away) as a "quiet legend" lol, a very fitting description, the "little" things he left behind are exquisite :) I'm hoping next weekend to head out, and take one of his trusty gold detectors and give it a whirl...lol, first time ever for me :)

yep :) tin can bay, my dad was living in cooloola cove, just down the road from tin can :)

I was born in Gympie and was on dairy farms in the area with my family. I spent a bit of time there as a kid chasing whiting and bream around the jettys. It would have changed heaps since then but I have great memories from there. :)