Micro-highbanker

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Check out my highbanker for those arears that dont allow gas engins
1524519551_20180423_130140.jpg

No, It is manually operated. :) :)
I have designed and built a rocker box with two of them.
Just for the interim. :Y: :Y:
Very efficient. :D :D :D

That thing could potentially be a little weapon! Looks great! Would love to see a video when you get it out on the creek! I'm very curious about them there bilge pumps!
You might already know but I hear it helps immensely if you put a check valve onto the end of your intake hose :Y:
Tarthra! What's this sneaky little rockerbox you have been working on!? Would also be really great to see a video or some pictures!
I still haven't finished the one I started last year :|

Would one of you people like to explain what a highbanker is to this total beginner please?
And how to they differ from a sluice?

Your piece of equipment looks very good Sourdough Moe!

Hi Jim,

A high banker is basically a sluice with a water delivery system attached. The idea being that you can use it up on the bank away from the actual water flow of the creek/river. At present in NSW there is a ban on the use of a high bankers if the water is supplied by a motorised pump. lf you supply water to the sluice box via a gravity fed pipe or a hand operated bilge pump such as Sourdough Moe shows then this should still be legal.

If you search this forum for high bankers you will see the many threads relating to the current debate over whether the NSW ban should be enforcable or not and the actions by many people including prospecting lobby groups to get the government to reverse the ban.

Cheers,
Troutman

Troutman said:
Hi Jim,