Northern Melbourne suburbs

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Folks,
I'm retired, now 67. In my working year, I was a Licensed Customs Broker, a Systems and Network Administrator and now, a registered breeder (VonBIOS) of working line German Shepherd Dogs with Dogs Victoria.

I have become interested in Gold Prospecting as a hobby. My interest has become enhanced as I have place two of my puppies with persons full time in Gold Prospecting and Distribution business (no names no pack drill).

The functionality of Gold Prospecting I see as an adjunct and opportunity to the early Critical Period Development of very young puppies to help them assimilate with sights and sounds.

At this stage I have not been prospecting and I suspect that panning at Sovereign Hill (Ballarat, VIC) doesn't really count. I have yet to acquire any equipment as I'm only in the research stage and of course, I will need to establish a budget for this project. There is no rush, but it is on my "Bucket List".

I look forward to learning from this forum and maybe even contributing in due course.

Kindest regards

G'day mate, welcome to the forums.

:) I used to take my Dobie pups into the Sydney CBD inside my bike jacket and then walk them through people's offices, get them to sit on noisy corners, etc. That made for really well balanced dogs, bar a couple. Never heard of gold being a factor though ... interesting! :)

Have have come across Dogs being used to detect all types of sulphide ore, after some suitable training of course.

Dogs apparently can find all sorts of sulphide ore, whether it is zinc, copper or nickel and gold.

I read where some dogs can sense 20 30 different types of ore. They can discover an ore body that is as much as 12m under the ground. I'd hate to dig for that.

Welcome Hyghlander and good luck finding ... er, colour!