Howdy from Idaho..

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yankeedirtdog

Brett Whitesides
Reaction score
Yes I am a Yankee... I am new to prospecting but have always been interested in Engineering and Geology. the reason I have joined this group is because I have watched way to many youtube videos. You Aussies are laid back, suits me just fine. My ten year old grandson is a rock hound and wants to do it all. As long as it keeps him off the streets, Grandpa is ready and willing to provide the equipment and resources.
As I said, I have watched way to many videos. The Aussie channels have been very interesting and informative. I have purchased some equipment but have built most of it. Last fall we headed to a local gold bearing creek and brought back a bucket of cons. We recovered some fine gold and gems but have kept the diggings as test dirt for the ever expanding array of toys... I mean equipment. I use small lead shavings that number fifty to salt the dirt for testing.
My first sluice I made was a standard riffle type, I have since made a couple of fluid bed sluices, a Miller table and an underflow header box that works with my standard style sluices. So far the recovery rates are exceptional, any thoughts or ideas on processing and recovery are most welcome.

Thanks for having me...

1519599176_images.jpg

Gday YDD

Be great to see some pics of what you have made & some of your local terrain

All the best

G'day Ydd welcome to PA well said regarding the younger generation :Y: diversion programs are worth every cent keep it up. Sounds like your enjoying a great adventure with you grandson :Y:.

Gday mates! Thanks for the kind howdy. The abridged dictionary will come in very useful, I reckon some of the slang I already know. I appreciate Silver covering my tail and giving a preview to the place I call home.