South Aussie newbie detectorist

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ahoy forum,

I'm a 28 year old novice detectorist from adelaide, I thought I would just introduce myself and my plans for my time on this forum.

I have only ever used my friends garret a few times and found nothing other than junk but had a great time and it's convinced me to get my own and get out there!

I've noticed there is a forum sections for member finds, I plan on making my own "from zero to hero" thread, in which I will clearly outline my goals for metal detecting. I will really be starting out from zero, as in no real experience detecting. weather or not I make it to hero is another story all together :p

I just ordered my own Garrett 400i and AT pro pointer which should arrive next Tuesday, then the journey can begin!

These are my current goals:

1513206496_img_3179.jpg

Glad to see you are keen and hope you achieve your goals , plenty of good info on here to help you .

Best of luck

Great avatar btw :Y:

Cheers mate,

I'm under no illusion that I'll tick of that list quickly, but it's nice to have some goals!

I'm in it mainly for the coins and militaria, I collect both, all purchased though.
Would be nice to find a few pieces, ads a personal element to the pieces I think

Hi detectingsa. Tassie Daz here. don't let the name fool ya. Im from Kadina sa. Been detecting for a few years now and I venture over to Vict every year for the annual gold fix. I have an AT Pro, ATX and a minelab 4500. Bought the 4500 last year when I thought the atx had died but since then have had the atx checked by Garrett in Sydney and now its all ok. Just wish I had two hands able to swing both machines. Anyway great youre on board. There are lots of us around SA. Wishful pete at Maitland Ive met but I guess theres many more.