Anyone found a possible meteorite?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to fossicking but think I've found a real meteorite. Unfortunately I have to have it classified to say it is. Haven't been able to find anyone who can assist with this only overseas buyers but I want to keep it in Australia. Funnily I read an article saying no one is handing in new meteorite finds but obviously no one has information about how to go about it. I contacted the Qld Museum by email but no one has come back so they're not interested I'm assuming?

Jolie1!2! said:
I'm new to fossicking but think I've found a real meteorite. Unfortunately I have to have it classified to say it is. Haven't been able to find anyone who can assist with this only overseas buyers but I want to keep it in Australia. Funnily I read an article saying no one is handing in new meteorite finds but obviously no one has information about how to go about it. I contacted the Qld Museum by email but no one has come back so they're not interested I'm assuming?

Welcome to PA Jolie,
I reckon with the vast experience from many members of this forum, you may get at least a little bit of confirmation as to whether or not your (hopefully) space rock is fair dinkum or not.
As they say a picture is worth a word or 2 and I for one would like to see some :cool:
Enjoy this great forum mate and hope you can get some answers.
Cheers,
Billy.

1511012335_13.jpg

Welcome to PA, that would be a cool find to see, as said between the smart people here (Im not one of them lol) I think they could confirm it
Cheers
Jamie

Welcome to the forum. As they say, a picture paints a thousand words, I used to go out to Olary and look for tektites.