Gold Monster 1000

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been panning for a few years now and have decided to try my hand at some detecting, I don't have thousands and thousands of $$ to invest at the moment and was looking at the Gold Monster 1000 to start out with. I will mainly be detecting in Victorias golden triangle and was wondering if anyone has used this detector in a similar area and if so how it performed?

Thanks

Hi James,

Not many responses yet so thought I might as well chip in.

I have a Gold Monster and have had an SDC. Personally, if I was only going to have 1 detector for the mineralised ground of the GT it would be an SDC. I have tried the GM over around Bendigo and although it will work you will have to reduce the sensitivity quite a bit to be able to work it without it picking up every mineralised rock in the vicinity. The GM is a very sensitive and (I think) a very good detector for certain situations. Working really mineralised ground is not one of those situations.

Alternatively the SDC just eats up mineralised ground and you can really turn the sensitivity up as long as the EMI permits it.

And of course there are other non-minelab options in both VLF and PI but as I haven't used them I can't really comment.

The Minelab Equinox is the other potential option coming out in the near future that has a gold mode on it and may be a viable option but I'd wait and see some real on-the-ground reports from areas with high mineralisation.

GM - about $1000
Equinox - about $1600
SDC - about $3,500 new or get a decent one for $2,700 second hand with some warranty remaining.

It would be the SDC for me unless the Equinox reports come back REALLY favourable.

And this is well worth a read for different options from a bloke that has USED THEM ALL rather than just guessing