Newbie from Shoalhaven - Gidday to all

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Howdy Campers. I've been re-infected by an old bug . . . haven't fossicked for decades and now it seems I have rocks in me head again. Flying a bit blind here as I've never used a forum before. My interest was caught by some comments posted (last year I think) about a volcanic plug in Kangaroo Valley, and I saw that you discuss all sorts of interesting things here! I'm researching saws and cabbing machines, as I have enough material from years ago to sink a ship, and some of it is quite good.
Hmm, we'll see where this leads . . .

Welcome mate about time we had some more people from this area ]:D ]:D
there is lots to read on here and dont be afraid to ask questions there is heaps of knowledgeable people that will answer
enjoy and stay safe

Hi Marksman - I've noticed that fossickers are a bit rare around here too these days. Sounds like you're on the track of Billy Bulloo. I more look for the stuff you can cut & polish. Out my way it's all sandstone & siltstone, and Kangaroo Valley's my closest foraging spot. I'll be posting more when I figure this dang thing out some more . . . Cheers mate.

Hi River Rat!...you got my attention mate 8) ..what the hell is 'Billy Bulloo... :D

Maybe this mate
The Legend of Billy Blue

There are today perhaps very few who will recall the legend of Billy Blue. Billy Blue was a part aboriginal who with his gin lived somewhere in the Shoalhaven Gorges. Others persist he lived in a particular cave which for at least two generations has never been found and with increasing years its location is becoming even more remote.