High banker pump size and water feed

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rusty22

Rusty
Reaction score
Hey people I'm new to high banking and have just built a 10^^ X 4^ and will be running a dream mat and I'm a bit confused on pump size and outlet, and if to run single spray across the center or a direct jet? I would appreciate any information.

Hi Rusty,
How about a photo of your banker. ?
Picture tells a thousand words. :Y:

[video=480,360]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t11y1p-Ef1k[/video]

This isn't a bad spray bar setup.

I have since changed the tray to have mostly punch plate and the last 15cm grizzly bars.

That video is running a 3700gal hr 12v pump, but it's fed with 14v, as 3700 just isn't enough to run the dream matt.
Most people run a 1.5 inch 3hp 4 stroke pump.
I got this one http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1-5-Inch...234115?hash=item3f437d7143:g:qI4AAOSw2XFUln5z

Don't be tempted to buy a bigger one as they are too hard to carry in the field, unless you want to pump high up a hill and need the extra power.

And don't make fun of my sailboat PJ's :D

hey Rusty22,

What you need in pump size is all about litres per hour not HP, your average 2-4HP engine in Australia sadly only put out about 12,000 litres maximum per hour which really is bugger all but is enough to run a 10 inch dream mat just don't expect loads of jet pressure at your spray bars running it in a highbanker with that flow.
The honda wx15 is the best all rounder even the wx15t if you can find one it has a larger pump housing.
I dont think there is any problem with using a large pump i did for the last 5 years my pump is 36kgs and i had a 5.5hp 2 inch pump that was 22kg its really not that big of a deal and if you have trouble with a big pump you can use a barrow or a trolley.