Beginner finds please help what are they

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to metal detecting, first time out this weekend. Not sure what I have found, can anyone help identify items. Probably trash, but had a great time finding them. Found them all at the back of our property (think it is an old house site) found some very thick green glass also.

Pic 1 says Hamilton on it with some sort of logo

1495348644_20170521_161347.jpg

Pic 2 maybe some sort of old brooch has a clasp on back

1495349028_20170521_161421.jpg

Pic 3 Other bits and pieces found

1495349507_20170521_161500.jpg

Here's a hamilton family crest
(good call NeilM) :Y:
1495351461_2017-05-21-17-21-22-1515718189.jpg

rest looks like house site stuff
part of door latch opposing lock
part of harmonica
etc :Y: :D :Y:

Thanks Neil M & Silver,

Started off in my back yard, detector went crazy, kept finding ring pull tabs everywhere.

So thought I would check old home site down back, was heaps of fun finding things, old pieces of glass and pottery also. Ran out of battery on the pointer so had to call it a day.

Silver what one is the harmonica part?

Appreciate your reply's thanks heaps.

In 1814, William Hamilton introduced the egg shaped or torpedo bottle

Maybe a bottle seal related object :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Hey rockhound
I think that site is going to give a lot more
Go over it a few times very slowly and dig everything

Thanks Wally69, hopefully I might find an old bottle dump down the back somewhere with torpeedo bottles. Found a really thick piece of green broken glass. ;)

Silver I figured out the grill type piece is the harmonica part.
:)

Just seen, glad you worked it out Tally,
the buckle looks big enough to be for horse harness
and maybe that's where the chain is from too.
the two eyelets are off a tarpaulin/tent