New to gold detecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
My names baz and im new to prospecting. I bought myself a gpx5000 a month or two ago and went out a few times in the golden triangle to try and work it all out. I spent many hours reading about settings online and was confident in the settings i was using but was feeling a little bit lost when i was out in the bush. I spent as much time playing with the detector as i did actually detecting.
I found some junk but no gold which i expected to begin with but thought i may have found something after 4 or 5 outings.

A friend of a friend (luke) has been detecting for a few years very succesfully and luckily i was able to chat with him and get a few tips. He even offered to take me out to one of his spots and to show me the ropes. I accepted his offer providing he would let me pay him for the privelige. He insisted on doing it for free however i managed to hide some money in his car after our day out. Having only met him that day for the first time he seemed like it was his job to train people, he knew the gpx intimately even though he owned a gpz 7000 however he had gpxs previously.
We spent the first hour going through settings and testing them on a range of nuggets he brought with him. Then we started on some diggings and with a few pointers regarding my technique and ground balancing practice he had me picking the faintest signals and pretty much spoon fed me my first nugget which was the 3rd target of the day. He still hadnt got his detector out of the car yet and i felt bad as i was interrupting his time to detect. He spent another hour with me and taught me how to distinguish betweem ground noise and a legitimate target.