Solar power question for home - power outages

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Wasn't sure if this is the right forum so if mods want to move they can :)

I'm wondering is there a small solar setup that can be used at home for when there's a power blackout?

A friend of mine who lives overseas , unfortunately has to endure regular blackouts.

What I'm thinking is a small portable solar panel that sits on his apartments balcony , then that charges a battery that could be stored away neatly (small apartment) Basically storing enough power to run say a fan , charge a phone etc. Obviously not much more than a couple of hours of power supply , or is batteries and solar much better than that these days?

I have zero experience at solar and how it all works so that's why I've put this in the camping forum where you see alot of campers using solar.

Appreciate any thoughts on the matter! :)

Deep cycle battery in a battery box with cigarette lighter adaptors and a 120 amph solar panel sounds like it would power the fan and charge a phone and run led lights, for a few days at a time. Run a car fridge to. A 160 amph panel would be better if a fridge was included. Car charger for the phone.

davent said:
Deep cycle battery in a battery box with cigarette lighter adaptors and a 120 amph solar panel sounds like it would power the fan and charge a phone and run led lights, for a few days at a time. Run a car fridge to. A 160 amph panel would be better if a fridge was included. Car charger for the phone.

Sounds like exactly what he needs.

Would somewhere like Anaconda sell the setup?

Usually the blackouts only last max 5 hours so running a fridge isn't necessary but appreciate the advice.

So from the deep cycle battery , it has power points?