GPX Specific Ground Balance

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
this may be a stupid question.
On page 56 of my manual it go's through the procedure for ground balancing in specific, but what I don't know is do I leave the machine in specific and ground balance as normal or do I switch it back to General :8
lab

The specific ground balance is for big coils and very tricky ground, when you use it leave it in specific. I very rarely use it and find the standard GB procedure works 99% of the time.

DD

Have been wondering about GB in areas of higher magnetic intensity. Looking at the magnetic intensity map of NSW you can see certain goldfields are higher and others lower.

I'm wondering if a "Specific GB" would be better in such areas to keep a smoother threshold and better GB? Anyone use specific GB?

Thanks

Sorry mate i have no experience with Ground balance specific. Most of the ground i detect is variable, so i ruled out using it in my situation. Not only that i thought i didn't have enough experience on the machine to use this mode :)

No worries Roscoe, I'm going to give it a go next time I'm at this 1 spot which shows up as being a lot more magnetic, it's bang over the goldfield, anyway will try it just out of interest.

Does anyone in the Vic GT use Specific Ground Balance on their GPX?
I don't hear of anyone using it, but according to the 4500 user manual it is meant to be good for highly magnetic and iron rich soils.
If you do use it do you have to go through the whole Specific Ground Balance procedure, as described in the manual, every time you feel the need to ground balance?
Or can you use the Quick Track button to switch to Tracking, pump the coil up an down, and when stable release the Quick Track button to go back to Fixed. The user manual isn't very clear.