Glen Innes

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Im only new at this so bare with me. My family and I are going to Glen Innes on the long weekend and are looking for places to fossick that haven't already been mined. I have been to Boolabinda a few times but I have been told it is shut till mid October unfortunately. Would anyone have any other spots we could try in that area? I have also been to Bullock mountain. Most other spots I have been to are around the Inverell area. Thank you.

Finding somewhere out there that hasn't been mined would be almost impossible. Some places have been mined for 100 years and still produce good stones. ;)

G-day Jasons and Welcome. :D .... You could always head up to Emmaville(40 min north of Glen Innes) for the Emmaville Gemfest 1-3 OCT.... Field trips cost $20 pp I think. 8) .. This Years Event will be based at the Emmaville Caravan Park...

The Field Trips Planned for this year include de Milhous Lode/Mine/Reef, Where you will find All sorts of Gems... This was a Gem mine with Beryl, Emerald, Topaz and Fluorite(green and purple) and others.....last time anyone fossicked there was well over 15 yrs ago.... And the goodies should be everywhere after all this rain.... :D

One of the other Locations is the Webs Consols Silver Mine (under Lease), where you will find All sorts of Silver related Minerals.... Both Locations are on Private Property.. so they haven't been visited for a very long time....

Hopefully the Weather Gods are good to us and it should be a great event for all who attend this Long Week-end...

Now, before any-one jumps down my throat ..... Yes I am one of the Field Trip Guides..... :cool:

There is a Topic on this titled 'Emmaville Gemfest 2016' in this Section.. and a few pics as well...

LoneWolf......