Metal detector choice - X-terra 705 or Garrett Infinium

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ziggy

Peter
Reaction score
Ok guys first question, as I'm a complete newby to detecting I need some opinions from people that have used an Minelab Xterra 705 or Garrett Infinium or both. I've read about these two a fair bit and the pricing is affordable for me.

There's no point for someone with my level of experience spending huge money on the top of the range detectors at this point in time. If the bug bites hard ill lash out and keep the other detector as a backup/spare.

Cheers Peter.

The infinium is a great machine for the beach and goldfields. nqexplorers on youtube is the best expert in Australia to talk with about how the machine works down here.

Hi Ziggy,

On paper there's a number of key differences between the two detectors. I'll list a few of the important ones to consider below.

Minelab X-TERRA 705
Technology: VFLEX (Enhanced VLF)
Visual Display: YES
Water Proof: NO, optional rain cover available
Learning Curve - Minimal

Garrett Infinium LS
Technology: PI (Pulse Induction)
Visual Display: NO
Water Proof: Fully Submersible
Learning Curve - High

Another important factor is where and what you'll be chasing. If it's mainly gold your after or for underwater use, I would buy the Infinium, otherwise I'd go with the 705 because of its versatility, visual display and it's lighter. Of course that's only personal opinion so best not to base your buying decision solely on that :D

Cheers,
Nugget

the infinium is nice and light if you wear the box on your belt. but a visual display and ground balance window is great on the AT Gold and its waterproof as well.

If you give your location someone with mentioned detectors might let you have a go with theirs..........first hand experience have greater value and is much preferred.

ivanll