You are not logged in.

• Register to access all forum features  

Creekfossicker
01 September 2015 01:42 am

I'm new to fossicking. I found this rock last week and think I'm on to a rock laced with gold. Is this gold ?1441032140_image.jpg

1 user likes this post: silver

AtomRat
01 September 2015 01:45 am

Very hard to tell from that photo sorry mate

Wisdom is knowing how little you know

Martin
01 September 2015 02:30 am

Doesn't look like gold.

Maybe a bigger photo with the whole rock in it.

Gear: Minelab CTX 3030 and PRO-FIND 25 Pinpointer
www.mineralcollectiononline.com - My Minerals, Fossils and Collectables website

Flitgold
01 September 2015 12:43 pm

Yes it does look like gold...but a bit more perspective would be ideal

silver
01 September 2015 12:58 pm

If it is,.... I hope it's just a small bit you chipped off the mountain. yikes wink

What a great day ! ,... " I'll see you in the field ".

1 user likes this post: Ryan27

Metamorphic
Gone Walkabout
Gone Walkabout
01 September 2015 10:30 pm

HI CF and welcome to PA.

There is an old saying mate.....if there is any doubt that what your looking at is gold, then it isnt!

Gold is very distinguishable and would be quite obvious in the amounts you beleive are involved with your rock.

Read some of the other threads mate......good advice in the only way to tell is crush and pan!

Even if its a bit distorted color wise by oxidization, weathering etc , You must utilize its specific gravity to tell you for sure.

But sadly no....it dont look like gold to me dude!

Regards

Meta wink

(PMAV member) There is no better indication of a lot of gold, than a little gold - Sam Cash.

4 users like this post: Ryan27, Big Nugget, WalnLiz, Chewy

Chewy
02 September 2015 12:53 am

Sorry, not this time. I don't think it is gold, would be noticeably heavy for it's size.

Here gold gold gold gold.

BigWave
19 January 2016 03:16 pm

Ways to determine gold include: